A Walk On The Beach.

Standard

I remember the first time I went to a beach since I came to Mumbai last year. All my classmates who’re not from Mumbai ( including me ) were pretty much like tourists. We had to ask around for our ways to every other place. And we all were trying to get to know each other.

In all the excitement of discovering this “new” city, we all planned to go to the beach one day after college. Everyone excitedly grabbed rickshaws to the beach, and I, as always, ran to grab my camera from the hostel, and jumped into the second last rickshaw with a friend. We all reached the beach, and everyone was too excited, when this one girl took the lead and went up to the water. She walked ahead and I instantly took this opportunity of a photo as I saw it.
We went on to going knee deep in water, and then finally fully in water after a girl slipped into the water.. xD
To add to this, it started raining. I instantly fell in love with the weather. Soon enough, we all were tired and then we all just sat at a place where waves were comin onto us. There, sitting and chatting with friends, I had a thought which gree violently in my head. Just like the footprints in that pic I took were washed out by the water, almost everything changes and is forgotten about. And there I sat, thinking, “Nothing is Permanent.” And at that time, I was pretty much convinced that nothing really was permanent. That phrase dominated my Whatsapp amd Facebook Statuses, and it even became tge caption of that picture on my page!

This was about 5-6 months back. Now I sit here today writing this article, with more or less the same thought in my mind. Except that there’s something more. I had my ups and downs in these months, which seem like mountains and trenches right now, and probably a couple of years later will seem like no big deal. Or maybe not. But they have taught me something. It’s never to lose hope. And that’s what changes my thoughts.
There’s an old saying that “Don’t write your name on sand, it gets washed away, rather carve it i to a stone, it’ll stay there forever.” Now obviously, even rocks get withered away. But the point comes across. Most things are not permanent, but some things, like true love, are naturally permanent ( ofcourse, there has to be dedication there too ). While some other things, such as great deeds or work need te effort and hard work to be put into them to get carved. And when your name’s carved on the stone, people walking by will see it and appreciate the hard work and remember you. Well, I’m basically trying to put everything in a nutshell, I hope it doesn’t seem too vague to you. But hey, life ain’t easy. And to be great isn’t a piece of cake!

A walk on the beach can turn your life upside down. Who knew?

Have something to say? A comment, maybe?

